Region Albury, Berrigan, Bland, Carrathool, Coolamon, Cootamundra-Gundagai, Edward River, Federation, Greater Hume, Griffith, Hay, Junee, Leeton, Lockhart, Murray River, Murrumbidgee, Narrandera, Snowy Valleys, Temora and Wagga Wagga
Population (2017): 275,766
Key industries: Health care and social assistance, manufacturing, agriculture, forestry, fishing 

Covering 114,374 kilometres, the Riverina-Murray is in the south of New South Wales. The Murray River runs along the southern edge of the region and forms the border with Victoria. 

The Government is extending its investment in improving the region’s hospitals, schools and water supply while also continuing to attract visitors to the region. 

Regional highlights:

Health and education infrastructure: 

  • an upgrade of the James Fallon High School and the Young High School Library as well as a new primary school in Wagga Wagga
  • $35.0 million for the Griffith Hospital Redevelopment with 
  • $6.0 million allocated in 2018-19
  • $20.0 million to continue the Wagga Wagga Base Hospital Redevelopment
  • $5.0 million to continue the Albury Base Hospital Emergency Department Expansion
  • funding for TAFE Connected Learning Centres in Corowa, Deniliquin and Narrandera.

Roads and infrastructure: 

  • $19.5 million for the Gocup Road Upgrade
  • $16.0 million NSW Government contribution towards the new Cobb Highway bridge over the Murray River between Echuca and Moama
  • commencing construction for the replacement of Gee Gee Bridge over the Wakool River.

Protecting our communities:

  • $1.3 million in 2018-19 to complete the Deniliquin Police Station
  • funding as part of a four-year package to upgrade and replace Police Citizens Youth Clubs at Wagga Wagga, Albury and Griffith.

Other infrastructure:

  • $31.0 million in 2018-19 for the Nimmie Caira System Enhanced Environmental Water Delivery Project 
  • $11.0 million from the Regional Growth Environment and Tourism Fund for the Murray River Experience in Albury
  • funding as part of the Stronger Country Communities Fund for the Deniliquin Swim Centre.

Explore other regions

Central Coast Central West and Orana Far West Hunter Illawarra – Shoalhaven New England and North West North Coast South East and Tablelands