Culcairn main street
Region Albury, Berrigan, Bland, Carrathool, Coolamon, Cootamundra-Gundagai, Edward River, Federation, Greater Hume, Griffith, Hay, Junee, Leeton, Lockhart, Murray River, Murrumbidgee, Narrandera, Snowy Valleys, Temora and Wagga Wagga
Population (2016): 274,000
Key industries: Agriculture/fishery/forestry, construction, retail trade

Covering 114,374 kilometres, the Riverina-Murray is located in the south of New South Wales. The Murray River runs along the southern edge of the region and forms the border with Victoria. The Government is extending its investment in improving and expanding the region’s hospitals while also continuing works on police and fire stations. We are also supporting important water security initiatives in the region.

Key highlights include:

  • roads and infrastructure initiatives including:
    • $22.8 million in 2017-18 to upgrade Gocup Road
    • $7.0 million in 2017-18 as the New South Wales contribution towards the Cobb Highway new bridge at Echuca-Moama
    • $7.0 million in 2017-18 to upgrade the Newell Highway at Grong Grong including completion of realignment works
  • improved quality services such as:
    • continuing works on Deniliquin Police Station with an estimated total cost of $18.4 million
    • $6.1 million in 2017-18 to continue the Wagga Wagga Rural Referral Hospital redevelopment. A further $4.0 million has been committed in 2017-18 to commence stage three of the redevelopment
    • funding of $2.0 million in 2017-18 to commence the expansion of the Albury Base Hospital Emergency Department with an estimated total cost of $30.0 million
    • continuing works on two new Fire and Rescue stations at Henty and Batlow with estimated costs of $920,000 for each station
    • funding provided for planning of potential future upgrade of Tumut Hospital
  • agriculture and water investments:
    • Wagga Wagga will receive funding under the $65.0 million research and development partnership with the Grains Research and Development Corporation to extend research into winter crop development, infrastructure capacity development and skill development
    • as part of the Sustaining the Basin program supported by the Commonwealth Government, New South Wales will spend $13.0 million in 2017-18 for the Nimmie Caira System Enhanced Environmental Water Delivery Project in Coleambally
    • $3.9 million for the Bethunga Dam Stabilisation program, including $1.2 million in 2017-18 when the program is scheduled to be completed.